Forums Horror Movie Talk
Original Fiction: How Does Your Garden Grow

Just a few quick notes: This is meant to be the opening (in part) to a longer novel, a project I've been working at on and off for a couple years. It's fairly dark and/or graphic. I'd love to see some honest reactions.

================== "How Does Your Garden Grow"

I’m watching you.

You don’t even notice, but I am.

It’s starting to get warmer out now; this is my favorite time of year. You - all of you - start to strip down, leaving your coats behind and letting a few scintillating bits of flesh feel the sunlight again.

Arms bare in the morning breeze.

The gentle rise of a barren ankle, slipping up the soft skin to a rounded calf.

The slender curve of a neck, throat lily white after months hidden beneath heavy sweaters and winter scarves. Pale as a dove; soft and sweet as a lick of ice cream on a hot summer day.

I don’t like summer. No, it’s too much. Too crass. Early spring is best, when all your secrets first begin coming to light.

I’m watching you.

You come here everyone morning, like so many others. I t in the back with my newspaper and watch as you place your order.

Vanilla latte. Light on the foam. Fat-free blueberry muffin, on the days you have your Pilates class. Jumbo chocolate chip cookie on the days you’re feeling naughty.

You live in the building across the street, and park in a garage next to the café. You stop in on your way out – to work, to your classes, to vit your friends – and then head to your little red Jetta on the third level of the parking garage.

I’m watching you.

You walk past my table, but you don’t see me. You never see me. Not yet. Not until today.

You walk past my table and I push it, just slightly. Just a little. It nudges your bag and shifts your arm, and your coffee spills, dribbling a mocha streak down your lily white hand and pitter-pattering against my newspaper.